Novotna Dominates All-Conference Accolades

Novotna Dominates All-Conference Accolades

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Women's Cross Country runner, Tereza Novotna, added to her already stellar freshman resume as she was named Sunshine State Conference Runner of the Year. In addition, Novotna was selected Freshman of the Year, as well as earning an All-Conference team nod, it was announced by conference officials, Tuesday.

A native of Opocno, Czech Republic, Novotna had a tremendous collegiate debut for the Lions. She posted five top-10 finishes in six races, including a first-place finish at the SSC Championship. Novotna turned in a 6K time of 21:44.60 to lead the field at the SSC event. In total, she logged three top-five finishes this fall, placing fourth at both the UT Early Bird Invitational and the Invitational in addition to her individual victory at the conference race. Her efforts on the course now see Novotna as the Saint Leo time record holder in both the 5K and 6K race categories.  

Accompanying her All-SSC selections, Novotna was also named SSC Runner of the Week on two occasions. It marks the first time in program history a runner has earned either Runner or Freshman of the Year praises.

Novotna and the rest of the Lions will now get their opportunity to perform on the national stage as both squads will get to compete in the NCAA South Region run on Saturday, November 5. The women will leave the starting line at 8 a.m., while the men will see a 9 a.m. shotgun start.

In total, seven student-athletes were named to the 2011 All-Conference Team. Tampa's Jessica Butler was selected along with Novotna as Co-Runners of the Year. Tampa's Jarrett Slaven was named Coach of the Year.

Joining Butler and Novotna on the All-SSC team were: Nicole Clarke (Florida Tech), Lauryn Falcone (Rollins), Kaia Hampton (Tampa), Heather Nicolosi (Tampa), and Alexandria Palm (Nova Southeastern).

Jessica Butler, Tampa, Senior
Nicole Clarke, Florida Tech, Senior
Lauryn Falcone, Rollins, Junior
Kaia Hampton, Tampa, Junior
Heather Nicolosi, Tampa, Senior
Tereza Novotna, Saint Leo, Freshman
Alexandria Palm, Nova Southeastern, Sophomore

Co-Runner of the Year - Jessica Butler, Tampa
Co-Runner of the Year - Tereza Novotna, Saint Leo
Freshman of the Year - Tereza Novotna, Saint Leo
Coach of the Year - Jarrett Slaven, Tampa