Bletso, Mailoto and Rocha Earn All-Conference Honors

Bletso, Mailoto and Rocha Earn All-Conference Honors

SAINT LEO, Fla. – After wrapping up their 2010 season last weekend, the Saint Leo volleyball team had an opportunity to honor three of its players as senior Bruna Rocha and junior Danielle Bletso were named to the All-Conference Second Team and Jaclyn Mailoto was added to the All-Freshman Team it was announced by Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Jay Jones on Thursday afternoon.

The three Lions join a total of 22 student-athletes who were named to the 2010 All-SSC Volleyball Team. Barry's Julia Teixeira was selected Player of the Year. Rollins' Megan Hodges was named Freshman of the Year. Tampa's Chris Catanach was chosen Coach of the Year.

As far as the Lions earning all-conference honors, Rocha capped off her senior season with her second-consecutive all-conference nod behind 306 kills in all of the Lions' matches.  Playing in 102 sets, the native of Sao Paulo, Brazil averaged three kills per set and she took a staggering 974 attacks.

Behind her powerful jump-serve, Rocha was also a significant threat at the service line, registering a team-leading 30 service aces, some coming at the perfect time for the Lions.

Defensively, the outside-hitter managed to lead the team in digs, notching nearly 400 at a clip of 3.87 digs per set.  At the net she managed 42 total blocks with 12 coming solo as she assisted on 30.

Finally getting conference recognition despite an impressive three-year career, Bletso joined her teammate as she dropped down 223 kills, ranking third on the team, in 29 matches.  Posting a .312 attack percentage, the junior averaged 2.12 kills per set as her 57 errors were the lowest of any of the hitters on the team.

Although she posted great offensive numbers as the only Lions to play in all 105 sets, the Boardman, Ohio native will be better-known for her defensive play in 2010 behind a team-leading 94 total blocks.  Bletso assisted on 71 stuffs while posting 23 solo blocks.  Her stats had her holding a 0.90 blocking average against opponents this season.

On the All-Freshman Team, Mailoto jumped into her starting role as the Lions' setter in grand fashion when she piloted a five-set come-from-behind win over Florida Tech in midseason. 

Tasked with filling the all-important setter position, the Niceville, Fla. native assisted on 659 kills at an average of 7.85 assists per set.  Despite her small frame, Mailoto also posted 15 total blocks in 84 sets.

As far as the major award-winners, Teixeira averaged 4.65 kills, 2.46 digs, 0.43 service aces, and 0.29 blocks per set. She led the SSC in kills and points per set (5.26). She also ranked second in service aces. Her .277 attack percentage was 10th in the league. Teixeira posted seven double-double performances this season and tallied at least 20 kills in eight matches. She was also recognized as the AVCA Division II National Player of the Week.

In her debut season at Rollins, Hodges averaged 3.42 kills, 2.34 digs, 0.26 service aces, and 0.24 blocks per set. She ranked fourth in the league in kills and fifth in points per set (3.83). The Orlando native collected eight double-double performances.

Catanach collects his 15th SSC Coach of the Year award after leading Tampa to its 20th conference title and sixth straight. Currently ranked No. 2 in the latest AVCA DII coaches poll, his Spartans have not lost a match since Sept. 25, reeling off 16 consecutive wins. Catanach's squad tops the league in most team statistical categories including hitting percentage (.301), opponent hitting percentage (.168), assists (13.32/set), kills (14.35/set), and blocks (2.56/set).

Voting for the all-conference volleyball team was conducted among the league's volleyball coaches and sports information directors.


MH - Lauren Huber, Florida Southern (Jr)
OH - Sarah Mendoza, Rollins (Sr)
MH - Danielle Selkridge, Tampa (So)
S - Meghan Sherman, Tampa (Sr)
OH - Julia Teixeira, Barry (Sr)
OH - Melissa Vanderhall, Tampa (Sr)
L - Lacy Redwine, Lynn (Sr)

Player of the Year - Julia Teixeira, Barry
Freshman of the Year - Megan Hodges, Rollins
Coach of the Year - Chris Catanach, Tampa

OPP - Ady Alcantara, Barry (Sr)
MB - Danielle Bletso, Saint Leo (Jr)
OH - Kaleigh Cunningham, Tampa (Sr)
MB - Haley Pratt, Lynn (Sr)
OH - Bruna Rocha, Saint Leo (Sr)
S - Devon Woolard, Lynn (Sr)
L - Julie Howlett, Tampa (Jr)

MB - Janelle Branch, Florida Tech (Jr)
OH - Megan Hodges, Rollins (Fr)

OH - Lindsay Biggs, Eckerd
OH - Megan Hodges, Rollins
MB - Camille Indest, Rollins
S - Jaclyn Mailoto, Saint Leo
MB - Lanie Muys, Barry
S - Ali Skayhan, Florida Southern