Kemkes Tabbed All-SSC First Team Singles; Kemkes/Singleton Name First Team Doubles

Kemkes Tabbed All-SSC First Team Singles; Kemkes/Singleton Name First Team Doubles

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Earning their first NCAA Tournament bid since 2008, the Saint Leo women's tennis team saw five different student-athletes named to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference team, it was announced Friday by league officials. Lions' sophomore Laura Kemkes was selected All-SSC First Team singles, while the doubles tandem of Kemkes and Emily Singleton also earned a spot on the all-conference first team.

A pair of Lions, Singleton and Maria Benkirane, were designated second team singles. In addition, Adrianna Daszkiewicz and Jeanette McDonald earned Honorable Mention honors.

In total, nineteen student-athletes were named to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Tennis Team. Lynn's Ioana Ivan was selected Player of the Year, while teammate Sabine Krause was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Barry's Avi Kigel was chosen Coach of the Year.

Individually for Saint Leo, Kemkes was the Lions' singles representative on the first team. In total, the sophomore collected a 15-4 record with all her matches being played from top flight singles. She finished the year with an outstanding 5-2 SSC mark.

Collecting first team honors on the doubles side, Kemkes and Singleton combined to go 17-4 on the year, while finishing the regular season campaign at No.8 in the country. They also wrapped-up conference action with a 6-1 mark.

On the singles side again, Benkirane, who finished her regular season with record of 22-1, was named to the second team. She sported a record of 7-1 in conference, while spitting time out of No.4 and No.5 singles. She was joined by Singleton as she finished-out the year with a 16-8 overall record. 14 of her victories came out of the No.2 slot, while also assembling a pair of wins at top-flight singles.

McDonald and Daszkiewicz punctuated the Lions' list with an honorable mention doubles honor. The pair finished-out the year with a record of 17-7 mark, including nine victories at No.2 doubles.

The Lions will return to action on Sunday, April 30, when they travel to Miami Shores, Fla. to challenge Rollins College in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Doubles action for the South Region Tournament is set to begin at 3 p.m.

For more on the nationally-ranked women's tennis team, visit 


Linda Fritschken (Barry, Fr)
Kristina Huba (Florida Tech, So)
Ioana Ivan (Lynn, So)
Alexandra Johansson (Nova Southeastern, Fr)
Laura Kemkes (Saint Leo, So)
Magda Riutort (Florida Southern, Fr)

Katarina Huba (Florida Tech, Sr)/Kristina Huba (Florida Tech, So)
Ioana Ivan (Lynn, So)/Sabine Krause (Lynn, Fr)
Laura Kemkes (Saint Leo, So)/Emily Singleton (Saint Leo, Jr)

Player of the Year - Ioana Ivan, Lynn
Freshman of the Year - Sabine Krause, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Avi Kigel, Barry

Maria Benkirane (Saint Leo, Fr)
Andrea Berkova (Lynn, So)
Katarina Huba (Florida Tech, Sr)
Sabine Krause (Lynn, Fr)
Ashley Rosenberg (Rollins, So)
Emily Singleton (Saint Leo, Jr)

Mona Mansour (Barry, So)/Cristina Valladares (Barry, Jr)
Magda Riutort (Florida Southern, Fr)/Sabine Goge (Florida Southern, So)
Julie Stas (Barry, Sr)/Olivia Matuszak (Barry, So)

Adrianna Daszkiewicz (Saint Leo, So), Jeanette McDonald (Saint Leo, Sr)