Weber Named Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year

Weber Named Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year

Martinez Given Nod on All-SSC Second Team

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Saint Leo freshman Nicole Weber has been named 2014 Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year, league officials announced, Thursday.  Joining Weber on the All-SSC team from Saint Leo was junior Stephanie Martinez, who picked up Second Team honors for her efforts this year. 

For the second consecutive year, Florida Southern sophomore Alli Crenshaw was named SSC Swimmer of the Year.  Tampa's Ed Brennan was named SSC Coach of the Year for the fourth-straight season.

In her debut season with Saint Leo, Weber set six program records including the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke and 200-yard IM records, and was a part of three relay school records (200- and 400-yard medley and 400-yard freestyle relays). At the SSC Championship, the freshman set the 200-yard breaststroke conference championship and overall conference records (2:14.48). Webber earned All-American status in the 200-yard breaststroke with a fifth place finish at nationals, while earning All-American Honorable Mention in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Martinez, a junior transfer from Ave Maria University, capped off a stellar first season with Saint Leo earning a trip to nationals.  After competing in 11 events for the Lions, Martinez broke several school records, including the 500-yard Free (5:03.63) at the SSC Championship meet, 1000-Free (10:14.55 - SSC Championship), and the 1650 free (17:12.92 - SSC Championship).  The Fort Meyers, Fla. native placed in the top-20 in the nation in the 1000-Free and 1650-Free at nationals.

Voting for the SSC Swimmer, Freshman and Coach of the year awards was conducted among the league's swimming coaches. Individual points accumulated at the 2014 SSC Swimming Championships, which took place on Feb. 19-22 at the Orlando YMCA Aquatic Center, determined the All-SSC Women's Swimming Team. The top eight swimmers, based on points, were named All-SSC First Team, and the next eight swimmers were named All-SSC Second Team.

Due to ties in accumulated individual point totals for eighth and 16th place, there are nine swimmers on both the all-conference first and second teams.

Named to the All-SSC First Team were: Lauren Chapple (Nova Southeastern), Alli Crenshaw (Florida Southern), Heather Glenday (Tampa), Kelsey Gouge (Florida Southern), Alexandra Hipolito (Tampa), Emma Lawrenz (Nova Southeastern), Catherine Parker (Tampa), Lauren Reynolds (Florida Southern) and Nicole Weber (Saint Leo).

Earning All-SSC Second Team honors were: Heather Burns (Florida Southern), Morgan Burns (Florida Southern), Thalie Carmigniani (Lynn), Elizabeth Fris (Florida Southern), Audrey Kula (Rollins), Cassie Ley (Florida Southern), Stephanie Martinez (Saint Leo), Erin Plachy (Tampa) and Dar Raz (Florida Tech).

In her second season for the Moccasins, Crenshaw repeats as the conference Swimmer of the Year after becoming a three-time NCAA Division II Individual National Champion and a 10-time All-American. At this year's NCAA Division II Championship, the sophomore won gold in the 1,000-yard freestyle event for the second-straight year, and collected a total of six All-American finishes to add to her totals from her freshman season. The Marietta, Ga., native earned the 2014 SSC Championship Swimmer of the Meet award after earning 57 total points with two first-place finishes. Crenshaw was a two-time SSC Women's Swimmer of the Week on Oct. 21 and Dec. 23.

Brennan earns his fourth SSC Women's Swimming Coach of the Year award after leading the Spartans to their second-straight-third overall-SSC title. Tampa won the 2014 title with 868 total points, 72 points more than second-place Florida Southern. The Spartans have won three of the four SSC titles since the 2010-11 inaugural SSC season. Tampa competed at the NCAA Division II Championship for the 14th consecutive year where they placed 21st. Six Tampa women's swimmer's earned All-American Honorable Mention status, while the 800-yard freestyle team finished sixth for All-American status.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's and women's swim teams, fans can visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Youtube.

2014 All-SSC Women's Swimming Team

Lauren Chapple (Jr.), Nova Southeastern
Alli Crenshaw (So.), Florida Southern
Heather Glenday (Sr.), Tampa
Kelsey Gouge (So.), Florida Southern
Alexandra Hipolito (Sr.), Tampa
Emma Lawrenz (Jr.) Nova Southeastern
Catherine Parker (Sr.), Tampa
Lauren Reynolds (So.), Florida Southern
Nicole Weber (Fr.), Saint Leo

Swimmer of the Year: Alli Crenshaw, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year: Nicole Weber, Saint Leo
Coach of the Year: Ed Brennan, Tampa

Heather Burns (So.), Florida Southern
Morgan Burns (So.), Florida Southern
Thalie Carmigniani (So.), Lynn
Elizabeth Fris (Fr.), Florida Southern
Audrey Kula (So.), Rollins
Cassie Ley (Fr.), Florida Southern
Stephanie Martinez (Fr.), Saint Leo
Erin Plachy (Jr.), Tampa
Dar Raz (Fr.), Florida Tech