SAINT LEO, Fla. – The Saint Leo University women’s soccer team received heaps of good tidings on Tuesday afternoon as Hannah Beard and Lauren Hudson were named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Adidas All-America Team.  Beard earned a place on the Second Team while Hudson saw her name appear on the Third Team.

In addition to the All-America honors, six Lions earned NSCAA/Adidas All-South Region honors as Hudson and Beard were joined by Pia Soesemann on the First Team, while Lizzie Seedhouse, Francesca Williams and Chrissy Darwell earned a Third Team nod.

Beard, the Sunshine State Conference’s Player of the Year and a Daktronics All-Region award winner, was a prolific scorer for Saint Leo and led the league in a number of offensive categories. She ranked first in the SSC with 44 points and tied for first with 12 assists.  The Saint Leo junior is also in the top-20 in the nation in scoring (20th) and assists (14th).  She also helped lead the Lions to a fourth-place finish in scoring in the NCAA in 2008

A native of Liverpool, England, Beard also ranked second in the SSC with 16 goals and an average of 0.94 goals per game.  Earning the conference player of the week award in September, Beard is also a performer in the classroom as she was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team as well.

Hudson, named to the Third Team, had a tremendous year in goal for the Lions.  The four-year starter saw over 1815 minutes in goal and only allowed 13 goals in 20 games.  She holds nearly every Saint Leo goalkeeping record, including one she set this year.  The Odessa, Fla. native posted five-straight shutouts in 535 minutes and 10 clean sheets this season as she was also award the Conference’s Player of the Week in October.  She also finishes her career ninth all-time in the NCAA in minutes played with 6,806:28.

In total, seven schools placed two players on the All-America team: NCAA finalist Seattle Pacific and North Carolina-Pembroke, Rollins College, Saint Leo University, Texas A&M-Commerce, Winona State and the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.

The All-South Region Team, named after All-America was released, saw six Lions make the team, which tied Saint Leo with National Runner-Up West Florida for most nods in the South Region.

The All-America selections are invited to be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in Saint Louis, Mo., on Saturday, January 17, as part of the 2009 NSCAA Convention. For more information, please visit

2008 NSCAA/adidas NCAA Division II Women's All-America Team
First Team
Pos., Name, Class, School, Hometown
K, Whitney Beverly, Sr., North Carolina-Pembroke, Richlands, N.C.
D, Katie Warner, Sr., Western Washington, Burlington, Wash.
D, Nicole Cito**, Sr., Metro State, Littleton, Colo.
D, Sarah Hawkins*, Sr., Columbus State, Lilburn, Ga.
M, Amanda Deck, So., College of Saint Rose, Cicero, N.Y.
M, Brittany Yetter, Sr., West Chester, Douglassville, Pa.
M, Meredith Teague, Sr., Seattle Pacific, Redmond, Wash.
F, Amelia Kasten, Sr., Winona State, Rochester, Minn.
F, Angelika Johansson*, So., Franklin Pierce, Falkenberg, Sweden
F, Lindsay Giblin, Sr., Rollins College, Naples, Fla.
F, Shameka Gordon, Jr., West Florida, Old Harbour, Jamaica
Second Team
K, Taylor Jordan, Jr., Texas A&M-Commerce, Argyle, Texas
D, Anna Svensson, So., C.W. Post/Long Island University, Stockholm, Sweden
D, Heidi Woerle, Sr., Winona State, Coon Rapids, Minn.
D, Rachel Smith, Jr., Franklin Pierce, Chichester, N.H.
M, Gabriela Demoner**, Jr., Franklin Pierce, Curitiba, Brazil
M, Meredith Novak, Jr., Wisconsin-Parkside, Batavia, Ill.
M, Shannon Oakes, Sr., Seattle Pacific, Boise, Idaho
F, Gabrielle Gramprey, Jr., Merrimack College, Brockton, Mass.
F, Hannah Beard, Jr., Saint Leo University, Liverpool, England
F, Katy Tafler**, Sr., Grand Valley State, Mississauga, Ontario
F, Laura Leber, So., Minnesota State-Mankato, Council Bluffs, Iowa
Third Team
K, Lauren Hudson, Sr., Saint Leo University, Odessa, Fla.
D, Dana Merrill, Sr., Rollins College, Melbourne Beach, Fla.
D, Katie Whiting, So., College of Saint Rose, Holden, Mass.
D, Lauki'i Cheng, Fr., Wisconsin-Parkside, Kailua, Hawaii
M, Becky Fleming*, Jr., Quincy, St. Louis, Mo.
M, Brandi Doss, Jr., Northern Kentucky, Harrison, Ohio
M, Courtney Evans*, Sr., Tampa, DeLand, Fla.
M, Erin Hopkins, Sr., Florida Southern, Winter Haven, Fla.
F, Kailey Egbert, Sr., College of Saint Rose, Camp Hill, Pa.
F, Meagan Lasley, Jr., Texas A&M-Commerce, Mesquite, Texas
F, Melanie Cobb, Sr., North Carolina-Pembroke, Richlands, N.C.
* indicates prior selection

2008 NSCAA/adidas NCAA Division II Women's All-South Region Team
First Team
K, Lauren Hudson, Sr., Saint Leo, Land O'Lakes, Fla.
D, Shameka Gordon, Jr., West Florida, Fox Island, Wash.
D, Dana Merrill, Sr., Rollins, Palm Harbor, Fla.
D, Maria Mohammed, Sr., University of Tampa, New Cumberland, Pa.
M, Courtney Evans, Sr., University of Tampa, Pembroke Pines, Fla.
M, Erin Nicole Hopkins, Sr., Florida Southern, Deland, Fla.
M, Pia Soesemann, Fr., Saint Leo, Valrico, Fla.
F, Hannah Beard, Jr., Saint Leo, Houston, Texas
F, Lindsay Giblin, Sr., Rollins, Palm Bay, Fla.
F, Shaneka Gordon, Jr., West Florida, Basse Terre, Trinidad
F, Dernelle Mascall, Jr., West Florida, Vasteras, Sweden

Second Team
K, Courtney Jones, Jr., West Florida, Panama City, Fla.
D, Leah Hirsch, So., Rollins, Lincolnshire, England
D, Anastasia Prescott, Jr., West Florida, Eskilstuna, Sweden
D, Meagan Thomas, So., Rollins, Stafford, Va.
M, Marcela Franco, Jr., West Florida, Suffolk, England
M, Rachel Jakubowski, Jr., Rollins, Gulf Breeze, Fla.
M, Stephanie Quinones, Sr., Nova Southeastern, Winter Haven, Fla.
M, Brittan Spence, Fr., University of Tampa, Fernandina Beach, Fla.
F, Princess Haley, So., Florida Southern, Liverpool, England
F, Linda Hoglund, Sr., Florida Southern, Naples, Fla.
F, Melissa Ortiz, Fr., Lynn, Midland, Texas
Third Team
K, Kendall Bourdon, Fr., University of Tampa
D, Adele Jackson, Sr., University of Montevallo
D, Courtney O'Connell, Sr., Lynn
D, Lizzie Seedhouse, Sr., Saint Leo
D, Fran Williams, Fr., Saint Leo
M, Stacey Balaam, Sr., University of Montevallo
M, Minnie Guzman, Jr., Harding
M, Tiffany Urquhart, Jr., Flagler
F, Molly Anderson, Sr., Lynn
F, Shurel Pearl Burton, Sr., Nova Southeastern
F, Chrissy Darwell, So., Saint Leo