Coors named WGCA D-II Golfer of the Year

Coors named WGCA D-II Golfer of the Year

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo senior Marie Coors was named the PING/Women's Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) Division II Golfer of the Year and a First Team All-American, when the WGCA's post-season awards list was announced Wednesday.

Junior Amanda Jakobsson was named an Honorable Mention selection to the All-American teams.

Coors, the 2017 Sunshine State Conference Women's Golfer of the Year, took individual national champion honors at the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship last week in Findlay, Ohio, after shooting a seven-over 295 over 72 holes, and defeating her nearest competitor by two strokes. She finished the season with a 72.16 stroke average over 32 rounds, and had the lowest stroke average of any Division II women's golfer.

Coors earned First Team All-SSC honors and was also named to the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) At-Large Academic All-District team. She also won the NCAA Elite 90 award for the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship for having the highest grade point average of any competitor in the national championship.

Coors won three tournaments during the 2016-17 campaign with 10 top five finishes. She finished among the top 10 in all 12 events in which she competed during the season.

Jakobsson finished the season with a 74.50 stroke average over 28 rounds, and finished the season ranked 12th among Division II women's golfers in the GolfStat statistical rankings. She took medalist honors at the Stetson University Babs Steffens Invitational, after firing a four-under 212 over 54 holes against a mostly Division I field.

A Second Team All-SSC honoree, Jakobsson had a pair of top five finishes and finished among the top 10 in six events.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo women's golf team, visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

PING WGCA Division II Player of the Year
Marie Coors, Saint Leo University  

WGCA Division II Freshman of the Year
Charlotte Puts, Barry University  

WGCA Division II Kim Moore Spirit Award
Mikayla Johnson, Malone University

Division II Golf Pride WGCA National Coach of the Year
Shannon Sykora, Barry University

Division II Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year
South Region Coach of the Year: Shannon Sykora, Barry University
Central Region Coach of the Year: Amy Anderson, Arkansas Tech University
East Region Coach of the Year: Brent Nicoson, University of Indianapolis
West Region Coach of the Year: Kenny Trapp, Dallas Baptist University

WGCA Division II All-American Teams
First Team
Franziska Bremm, Sophomore, University of West Georgia
Marie Coors, Senior, Saint Leo University
Pilar Echeverria, Freshman, University of Indianapolis
Sarah Kim, Senior, Dallas Baptist University
Tilda Larsson, Sophomore, Barry University
Brittany LaPadula, Senior, Florida Institute of Technology
Ann Parmerter, Sophomore, Dallas Baptist University
Charlotte Puts, Freshman, Barry University
Casey Wild, Junior, Tarleton State University
Elaine Wood, Senior, University of Montevallo

Second Team
Arin Eddy, Senior, University of Montevallo
Hanna Harrison, Freshman, Dallas Baptist University
Abbey Hartsell, Sophomore Lenoir Rhyne University
Katharina Keilich, Sophomore, University of Indianapolis
Lauren Lamm, Senior, University of West Florida
Paola Ortiz, Sophomore, Florida Institute of Technology
Guro Rambjoer, Senior, Florida Institute of Technology
Kiira Riihijarvi, Freshman, University of Tampa
Michelle Ruiz, Junior, Nova Southeastern University
Paloma Vaccaro, Junior, University of West Florida

Honorable Mention
Seher Atwal, Freshman, Rollins College
Gloria Choi, Sophomore, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Annika Haynes, Junior, University of Indianapolis
Amanda Jakobsson, Junior, Saint Leo University
Caroline Moore, Redshirt Junior, Lee University
Marvi Monsalve, Senior, California Baptist University
Noemie Pare, Freshman, Barry University
Maria Regina Gonzalez, Sophomore, St. Mary's University (Texas)
Johany Rivera, Junior, St. Edward's University
Emma Thorngren, Freshman, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Lexie Toth, Junior, Rollins College
Shelby Warner, Senior, University of Findlay
Mary Weinstein, Freshman, Regis University
Holly Winter, Freshman, West Texas A&M University