Petronis Named SSC Freshman of the Year; Hatch Earns Second Team Honor

Petronis Named SSC Freshman of the Year; Hatch Earns Second Team Honor

Lions Head to NCAA Tournament with Two All-Conference Honors

SAINT LEO, Fla. – As the Lions prepare to take on the field in the NCAA Tournament, the Saint Leo women's golf team was honored with some additional hardware as Heather Petronis was named the Sunshine State Conference's Freshman of the Year and senior Jordan Hatch earned an All-SSC Second Team nod.  Petronis was also named an Honorable Mention in the All-SSC team voting.

Earning the well-deserved honor after a tremendous rookie campaign, Petronis shot a 3-under-69 in the NIU Invitational and set the program mark for lowest round by a single player, a feat which capped an impressive first season.  She posted two tournament wins, one in the Flagler Fall Slam and the other in the NIU Snowbird Invite.  The Northfield, N.J. native looks to carry her 23 round, 79.78 stroke average into the super regional.

Leading the Lions in 2010-11, senior Jordan Hatch played in 23 rounds this season maintaining a 77.21 stroke average as she has claimed a tournament win at the Inaugural Pinehurst Challenge in March.  The win came alongside an impressive showing by the entire team in the tournament played at the iconic Pinehurst National Golf Club in North Carolina.  In only two years in the Green and Gold, the South Beloit, Ill. native finished her 2010-11 regular season with three top-5 finishes and five top-10 results.

Conference-wide, a total of twelve student-athletes were named to the 2011 All-Sunshine State Conference Women's Golf Team. In addition to Petronis' honor, Nova Southeastern's Sandra Changkija was selected the Golfer of the Year for the second straight season.  Florida Southern's Robbie Davis and Nova Southeastern's Kevin Marsh shared Coach of the Year honors.

Changkija was joined on the All-SSC first-team by Florida Southern's Marianne Andersson, M.J. Audette and Emily Flanigan. Her NSU teammate, Taylor Collins, also received a first-team nod.

In addition to Hatch, selected as all-conference second team members were: Joanna Coe (Rollins), Abbey Gittings (Nova Southeastern), Fabia Rothenfluh (Rollins), and Nicole Whitmore (Nova Southeastern).

Petronis and Florida Tech's Jessica Hook received honorable mention.

Voting for the all-conference team was conducted among the league's women's golf coaches and sports information directors.

With the Freshman of the Year award, Petronis becomes the fifth Saint Leo rookie student-athlete to take home the honor for the Lions in 2010-11.