Historic Season Propels Eight Lions to All-SSC Team Selections

Historic Season Propels Eight Lions to All-SSC Team Selections

WINTER PARK, Fla. - The Sunshine State Conference regular season champion Saint Leo claimed many of the major awards announced Wednesday as part of the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Teams.

Barry claimed two of the major awards announced as part of the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Team on Wednesday. Sarah Broeseker was named Player of the Year, while Megan Copeland was selected Freshman of the Year. Tampa's Kayla Cox was tabbed Pitcher of the Year, and Saint Leo's John Conway was chosen Coach of the Year.

Earning All-SSC First Team honors with Broeseker (3B), Copeland (OF), and Cox were: 1B Meagan Burke (Tampa), 2B Kelly Martinez (Barry), SS Kayleen Boatwright(Tampa), C Kylee Hardesty (Saint Leo), OF McKenzie Burns (Saint Leo), OF Aimee Halpin (Rollins), OF Kristie Hoeffer (Rollins), DP Sarah Steiner (Saint Leo), UTHannah Lovestrand (Rollins), P Niki Fogle (Rollins), and at-large selection Elaine Brown (Florida Tech).

Named to the All-SSC Second Team were: 1B Julie Brito (Barry), 2B Stacy Piagno(Tampa), 3B Rachelle Gremo (Saint Leo), SS Samira Tanaka (Nova Southeastern), CVeronica Alred (Rollins), OF Katie Bannon (Tampa), OF Kaycie Duncan (Eckerd), OF Courtney Durbin (Rollins), OF Chelsey Steedley (Saint Leo), UT Kasey Murray(Lynn), P Alana Tabel (Saint Leo), P Alexis Yohe (Barry), and at-large selection Megan Still (Saint Leo).

Voting for the All-SSC Team was conducted among the league's softball coaches.

In his third season as the coach at Saint Leo, Conway led the Lions to their first SSC Softball Championship in school history. Conway's squad tallied a 40-14 overall record and a 20-4 mark in SSC games. Batting .284 as a team (3rd SSC), the Lions showed a knack for not only getting runners on base with a .378 on-base percentage (2nd SSC), but also for getting them home. Saint Leo ranked second in the league with 214 RBI and 262 runs scored. The Lions posted an SSC-best 142 stolen bases. That tally was 39 more than the next closest conference opponent.


1B - Meagan Burke, Tampa (So)
2B - Kelly Martinez, Barry (So)
3B - Sarah Broeseker, Barry (Sr)
SS - Kayleen Boatwright, Tampa (So)
C - Kylee Hardesty, Saint Leo (Jr)
OF - McKenzie Burns, Saint Leo (So)
OF - Megan Copeland, Barry (Fr)
OF - Aimee Halpin, Rollins (Sr)
OF - Kristie Hoeffer, Rollins (Jr)
DP - Sarah Steiner, Saint Leo (Jr)
UT - Hannah Lovestrand, Rollins (Sr)
P - Kayla Cox, Tampa (Jr)
P - Niki Fogle, Rollins (Fr)
At-Large - Elaine Brown, Florida Tech (Fr)

Player of the Year - Sarah Broeseker, Barry
Pitcher of the Year - Kayla Cox, Tampa
Freshman of the Year - Megan Copeland, Barry
Coach of the Year - John Conway, Saint Leo

1B - Julie Brito, Barry (So)
2B - Stacy Piagno, Tampa (Sr)
3B - Rachelle Gremo, Saint Leo (Sr)
SS - Samira Tanaka, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
C - Veronica Alred, Rollins (Jr)
OF - Katie Bannon, Tampa (Sr)
OF - Kaycie Duncan, Eckerd (Fr)
OF - Courtney Durbin, Rollins (Fr)
OF - Chelsey Steedley, Saint Leo (Jr)
UT - Kasey Murray, Lynn (Jr)
P - Alana Tabel, Saint Leo (Fr)
P - Alexis Yohe, Barry (Sr)
At-Large - Megan Still, Saint Leo (Sr)