SAINT LEO, Fla. – The Saint Leo softball duo of Tiffinee Harvey and Elysha Agen were tabbed All-Sunshine State Conference First Team members, while sophomore catcher Brittany Yates received All-SSC Second Team honors, it was announced Friday morning by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones.

Each of the three is making their first appearance on the All-SSC squad. Harvey, a Lakeland, Fla. native and an All-SSC first team outfielder, had a history–making year for SLU. She concluded the 2010 season leading the Lions in most offensive categories, including a .383 batting average in 53 contests played. She posted a team-highs in hits with 64 and runs scored with 40. She ranked second in the SSC in home runs with 11 and total bases with 123. She drove in 32 runs and had 21 walks. She also led the team in both slugging and on-base percentage at .737 and .452, respectively.

Her biggest accomplishment of the season, however, was her knack for hitting doubles. One year after setting the Saint Leo single-season doubles record with 21, the senior one-upped that mark by stroking 22 in 2010. She concluded the year first in the SSC and 13th in the country in that category, and now stands fourth all-time at Saint Leo in total doubles.

Agen, a multiple-time Saint Leo Athlete of the Week award winner, was also selected a first team member at the utility position. A junior, she enjoyed a fantastic year from the leadoff spot where she started all 53 games. She amassed a .345 batting average with 61 hits and 31 runs scored. Of her 61 hits, 23 went from extra-bases, including an SSC second-best 18 doubles and a team-high three triples. She led the squad in stolen bases with six and collected 13 RBI. The Palm Harbor, Fla. native also  tallied a .514 slugging percentage, as well as a .407 on-base percentage.

Yates, a second team catcher, led SLU in the power department. The Riverview, Fla. native smashed a team-best 12 home runs, brining her career total to 25; third all-time. The junior also accumulated a team best 37 RBI and 11 doubles in 53 games started. She was a perfect 4-for-4 in the stolen base department and batted .277 with 44 hits and 31 runs scored. She was second on the team in slugging percentage at .573 and committed only eight errors in 178 chances.

In total, twenty-seven student-athletes were recognized as members of the 2010 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Team. Nova Southeastern's Lauren Lopez was named Player of the Year. Rollins' Kirsten Frame was selected Pitcher and Freshman of the Year, while Tar skipper Michelle Frew was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Voting for the all-conference softball team was conducted among the league’s softball coaches and sports information directors.


1B – Jessica Moreland (Rollins, Jr)
2B – Krista Rodden (Rollins, So)
3B – Noemi Luciani (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
SS – Lauren Lopez (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
OF – Brittany Gross (Lynn, Jr)
OF – Tiffinee Harvey (Saint Leo, Sr)
OF – Jessica Hernandez (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
DP – Bethany Boomer (Florida Southern, Sr)
UT – Elysha Agen (Saint Leo, Jr)
C – Christine Roser (Rollins, Jr)
P – Kirsten Frame (Rollins, Fr)
P – Dani Caron (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
At-Large – Lindsey Powell (Florida Southern, Jr)

Player of the Year – Lauren Lopez, Nova Southeastern
Pitcher of the Year – Kirsten Frame, Rollins
Coach of the Year – Michelle Frew, Rollins
Freshman of the Year – Kirsten Frame, Rollins

1B – Jessica Tabor (Barry, So)
2B – Dana Bergner (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
3B – Amanda Goelz (Barry, Sr)
SS – Amber Pederson (Rollins, Jr)
OF – Lauren Caldwell (Rollins, Fr)
OF – Grace Collins (Barry, So)
OF – Amber Durkin (Barry, So)
DP – Jessica Tejas (Tampa, Sr)
UT – Christine Clark (Florida Southern, So)
C – Becky Vyzas (Tampa, So)
C – Brittany Yates (Saint Leo, So)
P – Tiffani Bishop (Florida Tech, Sr)
P – Heather Van Landingham (Tampa, Sr)
At-Large – Brianna Barth (Florida Tech,  Jr)