Five Lions Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The Saint Leo men's and women's cross country teams had 10 student-athletes earn U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Division II All-Academic Honors, it was announced February 14.  Both teams were named USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams, to add to the individual student-athlete success.

Five men earned All-Academic Honors as Valentin Lenz, Carl Dunne, Niclas Bez, Rafal Matuszczak, and Rafael Lohner earned a place on the team.  As a program, the men earned an overall GPA of 3.17, making them one of 92 total men's teams to earn All-Academic Team Honors for the 2013 season.  Programs must have compiled a cumulative GPA of32.00 or greater and scored at an NCAA DII regional meet to qualify for the award.

The women placed five student-athletes on the All-Academic team, as well, as Jelena Tancic, Grace Lederer, Kylie Fagan, Ronja Jaeger, and Andrea Maxwell earned a spot on the team.  As a program, the women earned the highest GPA out of both the Sunshine State Conference and South Region.

A total of 32 SSC cross country runners earned All-Academic Honors, with nine SSC teams earning USTFCCCA All-Academic Team accolades.

Individual honorees must have compiled a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or greater and must have finished among the top 30 percent of total eligible runners at his or her regional championship.

A total of 16 men's runners earned USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors, including:
Chris Yanichko, Florida Southern
David Tomchinsky, Florida Southern
Jonathan Moses, Florida Southern
Daniel Schultz, Florida Tech
Justin McMaster, Florida Tech
Jameson Wren, Florida Tech
Valentin Lenz, Saint Leo
Carl Dunne, Saint Leo
Niclas Bez, Saint Leo
Rafal Matuszczak, Saint Leo
Rafael Lohner, Saint Leo
Lars Benner, Tampa
Steven Dennig, Tampa
Jessie Boria, Tampa
Michael Zwijacz, Tampa
Matthew Hoffman, Tampa

A total of 16 women's runners earned USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors, including:
Ashley Dudman, Florida Southern
Ashley Montano, Florida Southern
Rebecca Levy, Florida Southern
Inka Homeyer, Florida Tech
Chelsea Forgenie, Florida Tech
Gabriella Wuyke, Lynn
Alex Palm, Nova Southeastern
Peri Bowman, Nova Southeastern
Jelena Tancic, Saint Leo
Grace Lederer, Saint Leo
Kylie Fagan, Saint Leo
Ronja Jaeger, Saint Leo
Andrea Maxwell, Saint Leo
Danielle Kissel, Tampa
Vanessa Righeimer, Tampa
Veronica Mercier, Tampa

Also, a total of nine SSC teams were named USTFCCCA All-Academic Team, including:
Women: Florida Southern, Florida Tech, Nova Southeastern, Saint Leo, Tampa
Men: Florida Southern, Florida Tech, Saint Leo, Tampa