Three Lions Earn All-Sunshine State Conference Honors

Three Lions Earn All-Sunshine State Conference Honors

Nicholson-Lewis, Verberne, and Lozier Get Nod on 2014 All-Conference Squad

WINTER PARK, Fla. – The 16th-ranked Saint Leo men's tennis team placed three student-athletes on the 2014 Sunshine State Conference Men's Tennis team, announced by league officials, Friday.

Matt Nicholson-Lewis, and Fons Verberne earned spots on the All-SSC Second Team, while the tandem of Nicholson-Lewis and Victor Lozier claimed second team honors in doubles.

Barry's Ahmed Triki earned both Player and Freshman of the Year honors. The Buccaneers' George Samuel was selected as Coach of the Year.

Joining Triki as All-SSC First Team singles selections were: Nico Dreer (Barry), Alession Iannozzi (Lynn), Will Kwok (Rollins), Tomas Prokop (Lynn) and Daniel Riggs (Lynn).

Earning first team doubles honors were Rollins' Jason Alabaster and Ari Davis, Barry's Ollie Lemaitre and Triki, and Lynn's Prokop and Iannozzi.

Named All-SSC Second Team in singles were: Adrian Di Felice (Rollins), Renato Lombardi (Barry), Robin Marchione (Rollins), Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo), Fons Verberne (Saint Leo) and Leo Vivas (Barry).

Receiving second team honors in doubles were Barry's Romain Costamagna and Vivas, Florida Tech's Beau Fieldsend and Matic Leskovar, Saint Leo's Nicholson-Lewis and Victor Lozier, and Lynn's Riggs and Paolo Volpicelli.

Barry's Kevin Sielmann received honorable mention in singles.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Tennis Team was conducted among the league's men's tennis coaches.

In his debut season from Tunis, Tunisia, Triki earned a 12-3 record at No. 1 singles, including a 2-0 record against conference opponents. Triki currently ranks No. 7 in Division II and No. 2 in the South Region. In doubles, Triki has a combined doubles record of 18-4, including 6-0 in conference action. The freshman teamed with Lemaitre rank No. 2 in the country and No. 1 in the South Region. Triki was a three-time SSC Men's Tennis Player of the Week recipient.

In his 23rd season at the helm of Barry men's tennis, Samuel wins his third-straight Coach of the Year award and his 14th overall. Samuel led the Buccaneers to the first-ever SSC regular-season conference title, while also guiding Barry to its third-straight conference tournament title-11th all-time. The Buccaneers collected a 21-2 (6-0 SSC) record in 2014 and will look to win their second consecutive national championship. Barry earned the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Division II South Region and currently ranks No. 3 in Division II.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's tennis team, be sure to visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Youtube.

2014 All-SSC Men's Tennis Team

Nico Dreer, Barry (Fr.)
Alessio Iannozzi, Lynn (Jr.)
Will Kwok, Rollins (So.)
Tomas Prokop, Lynn (Fr.)
Daniel Riggs, Lynn (So.)
Ahmed Triki, Barry (Fr.)

Jason Alabaster/Ari Davis, Rollins (Sr./Sr.)
Ollie Lemaitre/Ahmed Triki, Barry (Sr./Fr.)
Tomas Prokop/Alessio Iannozzi, Lynn (Fr./Jr.)
Player of the Year - Ahmed Triki, Barry
Freshman of the Year - Ahmed Triki, Barry
Coach of the Year - George Samuel, Barry

Adrian Di Felice, Rollins (So.)
Renato Lombardi, Barry (So.)
Robin Marchione, Rollins (So.)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis, Saint Leo (Sr.)
Fons Verberne, Saint Leo (So.)
Leo Vivas, Barry (Sr.)

Romain Costamagna/Leo Vivas, Barry (Sr./Sr.)
Beau Fieldsend/Matic Leskovar, Florida Tech (Jr./Sr.)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis/Victor Lozier, Saint Leo (Sr./Sr.)
Daniel Riggs/Paolo Volpicelli, Lynn (So./Fr.)

Kevin Sielmann, Barry (Jr.)