Lozier Selected Freshman of the Year; Nicholson-Lewis, Adjenak Also Tabbed All-SSC

Lozier Selected Freshman of the Year; Nicholson-Lewis, Adjenak Also Tabbed All-SSC

Lions See Three Freshman Make All-Conference Team

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo men's tennis freshman, Victor Lozier, was selected Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year, it was announced Thursday by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones. In addition, Lozier earned a spot on the All-SSC First Team as did the doubles duo of Lozier and Matt Nicholson-Lewis. Individually, Nicholson-Lewis and Aloua Adjenak were chosen All-SSC Second Team.

Lozier played a key role in Saint Leo's most successful season since 1988. A native of Saint Ouen Laumone, France, he compiled an 18-4 record, playing primarily in the No.2 singles position. He posted a solid 6-2 mark in SSC competition. Lozier also notched a 16-8 doubles record with Matt Nicholson-Lewis.

Competing in the top doubles flight, the duo posted a three wins over nationally-ranked teams. The tandem took down No. 36 Ben and Zach Newell from Rockhurst by an 8-6 tally. They also defeated No. 20 Ben Maxwell and Hisa Sato of Eckerd, 8-5, and most recently an upset of the No.9 ranked pair from Rollins, 8-3.

Lozier set consecutive-win marks of three, five, and nine matches during the season and finished the year with a 4-2 mark in SSC action while also being named SSC Player of the Week.

Individually, for Nicholson-Lewis he completed the 2011 year with an 11-11 mark, playing nearly every match out of the No.1 position. Competing against the opposing team's best competition, Nicholson-Lewis collected winning streaks of three and four matches.

Another freshman on the Lions' squad, Adjenak collected 17 wins for the Green & Gold, finishing the year one victory behind Lozier for the team lead.

Posting 14 of his 17 wins out of the No.3 spot, the rookie built winning streaks of three, five, and seven matches during the year. He concluded conference play with a 4-2 record while finishing the year having won seven of his final nine singles matches.

Voting for the All-SSC men's tennis team was conducted among the league's tennis coaches and sports information directors.

In addition, a total of 15 singles players and seven doubles teams were named to the 2011 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Tennis Team, which was announced Thursday. Lynn's Willi Wolfer was selected Player of the Year. Barry's George Samuel and Mike Perez were chosen Co-Coaches of the Year.

In addition to Wolfer and Lozier, earning All-SSC first team in singles was: Vlad Cirla (Lynn), Emanuel Fraitzl (Barry), Jeff Morris (Rollins), and Luca Pavanelli (Lynn).

Recognized as first-team doubles duos were: Cirla and Alessandro Sarra (Lynn), Lozier and Matt Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo), and Wolfer and Pavanelli (Lynn).

Named to the All-SSC second team in singles were: Aloua Adjenak (Saint Leo), Arturo Baravalle (Rollins) Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo), Sarra (Lynn), Sergio Velez (Barry), Max Wimmer (Barry), and David Yawalkar (Rollins).
Garnering all-conference second team honors in doubles were: Jason Alabaster and Nick Rowlands (Rollins), Fraitzl and Wimmer (Barry), Velez and Ollie Lemaitre (Barry), and Marco Mokrzycki and Quentin Vachez (Barry).

Two student-athletes, Rollins' Sebastian Hafner and Lynn's Alex Voirin, received honorable mention for their singles performance.


Vlad Cirla (Lynn, Fr)
Emanuel Fraitzl (Barry, Sr)
Victor Lozier (Saint Leo, Fr)
Jeff Morris (Rollins, Jr)
Luca Pavanelli (Lynn, Jr)
Willi Wolfer (Lynn, So)

Vlad Cirla (Lynn, Fr) / Alessandro Sarra (Lynn, Sr)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo, Fr) / Victor Lozier (Saint Leo, Fr)
Luca Pavanelli (Lynn, Jr) / Willi Wolfer (Lynn, So)
Player of the Year - Willi Wolfer, Lynn
Freshman of the Year - Victor Lozier, Saint Leo
Co-Coaches of the Year - Mike Perez, Lynn and George Samuel, Barry

Aloua Adjenak (Saint Leo, Fr)
Arturo Baravalle (Rollins, Sr)
Matt Nicholson-Lewis (Saint Leo, Fr)
Alessandro Sarra (Lynn, Sr)
Sergio Velez (Barry, Sr)
Max Wimmer (Barry, Jr)
David Yawalkar (Rollins, Fr)

Jason Alabaster (Rollins, Fr) / Nick Rowlands (Rollins, Jr)
Emanuel Fraitzl (Barry, Sr) / Max Wimmer (Barry, Jr)
Ollie Lemaitre (Barry, Fr) / Sergio Velez (Barry, Sr)
Marco Mokrzycki (Barry, So) / Quentin Vachez (Barry, Jr)

Sebastian Hafner (Rollins, Jr)
Alex Voirin (Lynn, Jr)