Assis Named Sunshine State Conference Swimmer of the Year

Assis Named Sunshine State Conference Swimmer of the Year

Sophomore Named Co-Swimmer of the Year alongside FSC's Swan

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Matheus Assis has been named 2014 Sunshine State Conference Swimmer of the Year, league officials announced Thursday.  Florida Southern's Robbie Swan was named Co-Swimmer of the Year along with Assis.  Nova Southeastern's Marco Aldabe was named SSC Freshman of the Year, while Florida Southern's Duncan Sherrard was named SSC Coach of the Year for a third-straight season.

Voting for the SSC Swimmer, Freshman and Coach of the year awards was conducted among the league's swimming coaches. Individual points accumulated at the 2014 SSC Swimming Championships, which took place on Feb. 19-22 at the Orlando YMCA Aquatic Center, determined the All-SSC Men's Swimming Team. The top eight swimmers, based on points, were named All-SSC First Team, and the next eight swimmers were named All-SSC Second Team.

In his second season with the Lions, Assis collects his first conference Swimmer of the Year award after earning his second-straight SSC Championship Swimmer of the Meet award with 60 points. The sophomore won three individual events at the conference championship, including the 50- and 100-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly events. He also set conference championship and overall conference records in all three events.  Assis was a two-time SSC Men's Swimmer of the Week, as well as a two-time Division II National Swimmer of the Week.  At NCAA's he was a four-time All-American and earned one All-American Honorable Mention status.

Swan, in his final season with the Moccasins, anchored the 400-yard freestyle relay team that earned a bronze medal and secured Florida Southern's second-straight NCAA Division II National Runner-Up trophy. At the 2014 NCAA Championship, Swan was a six-time All-American, including a second bronze medal in the 100-yard freestyle event. Swan was also the top SSC finisher in the 50-yard freestyle, taking fourth place to just miss the podium at nationals. Swan was named SSC Men's Swimmer of the Week on Jan. 21.

In his debut season with Nova Southeastern, Aldabe broke four school records including the 100- and 200-yard backstroke and 200- and 400-yard IM records. The freshman broke the SSC Championship record in the 400-yard IM with a time of 3:52.96 for a first-place finish. Aldabe tied for third in points at the conference championship with 56 points. At nationals, he finished fourth in the 400-yard IM to earn All-American status. Aldabe earned All-American Honorable Mention status in six other events, including three relay events. He was named SSC Men's Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 24.

Sherrard earns his third SSC Men's Swimming Coach of the Year award after leading the Moccasins to a second-straight SSC title and a second consecutive NCAA Division II National Runner-Up finish. Florida Southern won the SSC crown with a total of 914 points, 155 points more than second-place Tampa. The Moccasins finished the NCAA Division II Championship in second place with 361 points. Sherrard's team collected four individual bronze medals and one relay bronze medal at nationals. The Moccasins also accumulated 14 individual All-Americans and four All-American relay teams, while also collecting 11 individual All-American Honorable Mentions and an honorable mention relay team.

Named to the All-SSC First Team were: Marco Aldabe (Nova Southeastern), Matheus Assis (Saint Leo), Raul Garrastazu (Florida Southern), Zane Hranac (Tampa), Florian Mehlan (Nova Southeastern), Luis Rojas (Florida Southern), Spencer Rowe (Florida Southern) and Juan Tolosa (Florida Southern).

Earning All-SSC Second Team honors were: Karl Burdis (Tampa), Addison Cates (Nova Southeastern), Cameron Chambers (Nova Southeastern), William Hofrichter (Tampa), Edson Lima (Florida Southern), Franco Lupoli (Florida Southern), Thomas Nguyen (Florida Southern) and Robbie Swan (Florida Southern).

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo swim teams, be sure to visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Youtube.

2014 All-SSC Men's Swimming Team

Marco Aldabe (Fr.), Nova Southeastern
Matheus Assis (So.), Saint Leo
Raul Garrastazu (So.), Florida Southern
Zane Hranac (Jr.), Tampa
Florian Mehlan (Sr.), Nova Southeastern
Luis Rojas (Jr.), Florida Southern
Spencer Rowe (Jr.), Florida Southern
Juan Tolosa (So.), Florida Southern

Co-Swimmer of the Year: Matheus Assis, Saint Leo
Co-Swimmer of the Year: Robbie Swan, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year: Marco Aldabe, Nova Southeastern
Coach of the Year: Duncan Sherrard, Florida Southern

Karl Burdis (Sr.), Tampa
Addison Cates (Jr.), Nova Southeastern
Cameron Chambers (Sr.), Nova Southeastern
William Hofrichter (So.), Tampa
Edson Lima (So.), Florida Southern
Franco Lupoli (Fr.), Florida Southern
Thomas Nguyen (Sr.), Florida Southern
Robbie Swan (Sr.), Florida Southern