Saint Leo Trio Leads NSCAA All-Region First Team Honorees

Saint Leo Trio Leads NSCAA All-Region First Team Honorees

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Led by three Saint Leo University standout student-athletes, a total of 12 Sunshine State Conference men's soccer players were named to the 2013 National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Continental Tire NCAA Division II Men's All-South Region Team released on Friday, Dec. 6.

Saint Leo had the most first-team selections of any South Region team, including midfielder Edgar Herrera, defender Chris Lavie and goalkeeper Manuel Schoenhuber.

Of the three selections, Herrera highlighted the noteable First-Team members as he served as the Lions leader with the ball.  On defense, veterans Schoenhuber and Lavie earned first-team honors as well as leading a back line that was among the best in the region.

Helping the Lions earn the Sunshine State Conference regular season title, Schoenhuber was a stalwart in goal as his 1.01 goals against average helped the Lions to a 13-win season.

The NSCAA/Continental Tire All-America Teams are scheduled to be released on Friday, Dec. 13.

Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kan., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community.

The NSCAA is the world's largest soccer coaches' organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits.

For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit

2013 NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Division II Men's All-South Region


GK - Manuel Schoenhuber, Saint Leo

D - Walker Hume, Rollins

D - Chris Lavie, Saint Leo

D - Patrick Zimmer, West Florida

D - Javier Lopez Mochon, Lynn

M - Thibault Charmey, West Alabama

M - Edgar Herrera, Saint Leo

M - Michael O'Neill, Lynn

F - Josh Ball, Lee

F - Kenny Hogg, Palm Beach Atlantic

F - Fernando Silveira, West Florida



GK - Thomas Halsall, Lee

D - Nicola Brivio, Nova Southeastern

D - Samuel Clare, Shorter

D - Julian Kitkowski, Shorter

M - Alex Bisbee, Rollins

M - Lucas Coutinho, Palm Beach Atlantic

M - Evan Greenbaum, Rollins

M - Tosan Popo, Rollins

F - Tyler Blackwood, Tampa

F - Thomas Coombes, Barry

F - Felipe Oliveira, West Florida

F - Kyle Simmons, Alabama-Huntsville