Purkiss Selected Daktronics All-South Region First Team

Purkiss, a junior-transfer, led the Lions with 20 points in 15 matches.
Purkiss, a junior-transfer, led the Lions with 20 points in 15 matches.

BOCA RATON, Fla. – Saint Leo men's soccer midfielder Joel Purkiss collected his first postseason honor as he was named to the Daktronics All-South Region First Team, it was announced Tuesday.

Purkiss, a native of Sheffield, England, was the Lions' offensive leader for the majority of the 2011 season. In helping guide the club to a 9-5-1 record, and a spot in the Sunshine State Conference Tournament, Purkiss registered a team-best 20 points, including eight goals and four assists.

In addition, the junior tabulated three game-winning goals and was a perfect 2-for-2 in penalty kicks, while racking up nearly 1,200 minutes of action.

Reigning Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year, Barry's Mark Anderson, continues to garner prestigious postseason honors as he was selected South Region Player of the Year. The Barry senior led the conference with 46 points and 21 goals

A total of 18 SSC student-athletes were recognized on the squad.  SSC representatives occupied 12 of the 13 slots on the All-Region first team and six of 14 second-team positions.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

2011 Daktronics All-South Region Men's Soccer Team

First Team

D – Justin Clark, Rollins

D – Jason Sangha, Lynn

D – Matt Duffy, Eckerd

D – Brian Fekete, Tampa

M – Heiko Eberhardt, Lynn

M – Nick Sowers, Rollins

M – Guilherme Oliviera, Barry

M – Joel Purkiss, Saint Leo

F – Mark Anderson, Barry

F – Rafa Faria, Rollins

F – Jose Ferraz, Christian Brothers

F – Harald Gracholski, Lynn

GK – Johnny Rodrigues, Barry

South Region Player of the Year: Mark Anderson, Barry

Second Team

D – Sean Reynolds, West Florida

D – Matt Bauchle, Rollins

D – Joe Conkleton, Barry

D – Jack Clifford, Rollins

M – Anthony Arico, Eckerd

M – Michael Hollier, Christian Brothers

M – Yannick Skull, Christian Brothers

M – Ragnar Gunnarsson, Alabama-Huntsville

F – Ryan Griffin, Tampa

F – Kyle Simmons, Alabama-Huntsville

F – Felix Hjalmarsson, Alabama-Huntsville

F – Matthew Aldred, West Florida

GK – Matt DiCerbo, Lynn

GK – Jamie Garcia, Christian Brothers