SAINT LEO, Fla. – After just five years of existence, the Saint Leo Lacrosse team can hang their helmet on another outstanding accolade as senior Kyle Marceau and junior Mike Del Buono have been honored as the program’s first-ever all Americans as was announced by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) on Monday, May 24, 2010.

Marceau was named to the second team along with three others at the midfield position after the Lions’ leader posted a team-best 35 goals in 15 games.  Totaling 55 points, he also racked up 20 assists in helping Saint Leo to a 12-3 overall record.  Of those 12 wins, the Concord, N.H. native blasted the game-winner in six of those contests, none bigger than the off-balance ripper he scored with six seconds left to send the Lions to a stunning 12-11 upset of Merrimack in March.

Earning All-Conference First Team honors for two years straight and an honorable mention nod his first season with the Lions, the 6-1 midfielder will finish his SLU career as the all-time leader in assists, second all-time in points, goals and shots.  This season he set the all-time mark for points, goals, and game-winners in a single year, meaning his name is all over the SLU record books as the program moves out of its infancy.

On the other hand, Del Buono completely dominated opposing teams as the Lions’ face off specialist.  With a skill that has him as the most dominate face off player in SLU history, the Southington, Conn. native won 196 of 283 face offs.  Winning almost 70 percent of his opportunities in 14 games, the junior added two goals and three assists to his resume.  He set a new single-season program mark in 2010 as he picked up 110 ground balls, good enough for tops in the nation in Division II.

The two award winners helped Saint Leo to a top-10 season in 2010 as they finished 12-3 overall and 4-1 in the Deep South Conference.  The Lions swept the conference regular season and tournament titles for the first time in the program’s short history.

First Team

Jack Harmatuk - LeMoyne College
John McClure - Dowling College
Kyle O'Brien - Dowling College
Mathew Sullivan - New York Institute of Technology

Matthew Chadderdon - LeMoyne College
Mike Poerstel - Limestone College
Joel Zalesky - Seton Hill University

Joe Biondolillo - Dowling College
Joseph Blount - C.W. Post College

Michael Cama - C.W. Post College

Drew Bezek - LeMoyne College
Kyle Rubisch - Dowling College
Richard Schmidt - C.W. Post College

Cory Spinale - Merrimack College

Second Team

Austin Carino - New York Institute of Technology
Danny Farmer - Mars Hill College
Kevin Gould - Bentley University
Jack Venditti - LeMoyne College

Tyler Burton - Mercyhurst College
Kyle Marceau - Saint Leo University
Joseph Meo - C.W. Post College
Michael Messina - C.W. Post College
Chris Cudmore - Mars Hill College

Corey Bulken - LeMoyne College
Peter Raab - New York Institute of Technology

Matt Allen - Bentley University
Kevin DeBenedetto - Saint Anselm College
Chris Eline - Mercyhurst College
Bryan Leonard - C.W. Post College

Zachary Nash - Mercyhurst College

Honorable Mention

Jake Rogalia - Limestone College
Martin Tuohy - Catawba College
Kevin Hennessy - New York Institute of Technology
Albert Maione - Molloy College
Mike Del Buono - Saint Leo University
Hunter Roof - Queens University of Charlotte
Ryan Dougherty - Dowling College
Dylan Price - Mars Hill College