Saint Leo, Fla. (April 14, 2008) – Saint Leo University lacrosse player Gregg Geiss (Fr., Syracuse, N.Y.) was named Deep South Conference Freshman of the Year, it was announced Monday by league officials.

Geiss finished the 2008 regular season winning 66.7% of his face-offs (30-of-45) while scoring seven goals and adding four assists.  Geiss also collected 27 ground balls. Geiss became the second straight Saint Leo player to earn DSC Freshman of the Year honors, as David Erdman (So., Mt. Sinai, N.Y.) was recognized with the honor in 2007.

Along with Geiss, four other Lions were named to Honorable Mention All-Deep South Conference. Mark Dargon (Jr., Newton, Mass.), Kyle Marceau (So., Concord, N.H.), Ryu Arakawa (So., Wesley Chapel, Fla.) and Alec Rahe (Jr., Libertyville, Ill.) were all Honorable Mention selections.

Catawba College senior attacker Kurt Green, who was second in the conference in goals and assists per game, was named the 2008 Deep South Conference Player of the Year while Wingate University head coach Sonny Ziegler was the 2008 DSC Coach of the Year.  Wingate finished as the 2008 DSC Regular Season Champion.

Wingate led the conference, placing six players on First Team and one on the Honorable Mention unit. Mars Hill College had five First Team members and two more on the Honorable Mention list. Catawba College added three players to the First Team squad including the Player of the Year, while placing two on the Honorable Mention team.

The Lions (7-7, 1-3 DSC) will head to Mars Hill, N.C. this weekend for the 2008 Deep South Conference Tournament.  Saint Leo will be seeded fourth and will face No. 1 seed and ninth-ranked Wingate University in Friday’s first semifinal at 5:00 p.m.