Bernard named to All-Nicklaus Team

Bernard named to All-Nicklaus Team

GCAA Official Release

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo freshman Hugo Bernard was named to the 2016 All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) on Wednesday, June 22. Bernard is one of 24 honorees on the list and one of four Division II golfers on the All-Nicklaus team.

Hugo Bernard, the 2016 NCAA individual national champion, adds this honor to the list after leading the Lions to the first ever national title in school history. Bernard was the first ever individual or team national champion in Saint Leo history.

He won the Division II Arnold Palmer Award for individual national champion, awarded the Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award on his way to being named to the DII All-Freshman Team. Bernard led a trio of Saint Leo athletes on the PING DII All-America teams as he was named First Team All-American after winning the individual title in Denver, Colo. on May 19.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA. Nicklaus Award recipients have combined for over 200 victories worldwide and claimed 22 major championships.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America's #1 brand of shaving cream. For nearly 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Offered in 7 premium varieties (Original, Soothing Aloe, Pacific Rush, Sensitive Skin, Skin Conditioner, Arctic Chill and Extra Moisturizing), Barbasol is available at all major retailers and continues to be made in America. For more information, visit or follow @BarbasolShave on Twitter at Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's golf team, visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.


2016 All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol
Hugo Bernard, Saint Leo
Jackson Bugdalski, Indian Hills
John Coultas, Florida Southern
Charlie Danielson, Illinois
Alistair Docherty, Chico State
Peter French, Johnson & Wales (FL)
Lee Gearhart, Chico State
Sam Horsfield, Florida
Beau Hossler, Texas
Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City
Connor Klein, South Mountain
Addison Lambeth, Huntingdon
Logan Lanier, LaGrange
Marco Maldonado, Tyler
Lee McCoy, Georgia
Maverick McNealy, Stanford
Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina
Jon Rahm, Arizona State
Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt
Robby Shelton, Alabama
Kerry Sweeney, Eastern Florida State
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist
Alex Wrenn, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Aaron Wise, Oregon