Four men’s basketball players named to the 16-17 NABC Honors Court

Four men’s basketball players named to the 16-17 NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Saint Leo men's basketball players Elijah Blackman, Necdet Gurkan, Trail Pierce and Drago Popovic were honored when the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced their 2016-17 Honors Court on Tuesday, July 18.

Blackman, Gurkan and Pierce earn the honor for the second time while Popovic earned the accolade following his first season in the Green and Gold. Gurkan, Pierce and Popovic earned D2 ADA Academic Achievement honors earlier this summer.

All four players were honored by the Sunshine State Conference for their academic success as well as the four were named to the SSC Commissioner's Spring Honor Roll. They were joined by fellow basketball players Tyreece Brice, Junior Searcy and Pete Okonkwo.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:
1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year.
3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo men's basketball, be sure to visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.