Jerrel Harris Named to Daktronics All-South Region Men’s Basketball Team

Jerrel Harris Named to Daktronics All-South Region Men’s Basketball Team

Harris is one of four Sunshine State Conference players to receive the honor 

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo University men's basketball standout Jerrel Harris was named to the 2013-14 Daktronics NCAA Division II men's basketball All-South Region first team. 

Harris, who is one of four players from the Sunshine State Conference (SSC) named to either the first or second team, and one of two named to the first team, earns his first team honor after averaging 19.2 points and 3.6 rebounds per game. 

On the season, Harris was named a first-team All-SSC selection and was also named to the SSC All-Tournament Team. He helped lead the Lions to a school record 23 regular season wins and the No. 2 seed in this weekend's South Regional Tournament. He scored in double figures in 27 games, including tallying 15 games of 20 or more points. Earlier this season, Harris poured in a career-high 41 points in an 84-81 win over Barry. 

In addition, the Milwaukee native leads the Lions in steals (28) and is second on the team in assists (68). 

Saint Leo will begin play in the NCAA South Regional on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. when it faces No. 7 seed West Alabama at Florida Southern College. 

Including Harris, five of the 10 players selected, including three of the five first team honorees, have helped lead their teams to the NCAA Division II Tournament.

Other Sunshine State Conference players named to the All-Region team were:  Kevin Capers (Florida Southern), Yunio Barrueta (Barry University) and Corbin Jackson (Florida Tech). Capers was also named the South Region Player of the Year. 

For more on the Saint Leo University men's basketball team visit Also be sure 'Like' the Lions on Facebook and 'Follow' the Lions on Twitter and Instagram. 

2013-14 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men's Basketball All-South Region Teams

First Team
Kevin Capers (Florida Southern) Junior Guard Winter Haven, Fla.
Willie Readus (Delta State) Senior Forward Morton, Miss.
Brandon Davey (Fort Valley State) Senior Forward Warner Robins, Ga.
Jerrel Harris (Saint Leo) Senior Guard Milwaukee, Wis.
Nate Johnson (West Florida) Senior Forward/Guard Lincolnshire, Ill.

Second Team
Yunio Barrueta (Barry University) Sophomore Forward Miami, Fla.
Rashaun Claiborne (North Alabama) Senior Guard Darrow, La.
Corbin Jackson (Florida Tech) Sophomore Forward Rockledge, Fla.
Trey Casey (Christian Brothers) Junior Guard Cincinnati, Ohio
Darrius Williams (Morehouse) Senior Guard Detroit, Mich.

South Region Player of the Year
Kevin Capers (Florida Southern)