Marcus Ruh Named South Region Winner of Division II Commissioner's Scholar-Athlete Award

Marcus Ruh Named South Region Winner of Division II Commissioner's Scholar-Athlete Award

PRARIE VILLAGE, Kan. – Saint Leo University men's basketball alumnus Marcus Ruh has earned recognition as one of the sixteen regional winners of the NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award announced today.  A male and female Division II Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be selected from the 16 regional winners, eight men and eight women.  Ruh, a 2013 graduate of Saint Leo, is the male winner from the Sunshine State Conference in the NCAA's South Region.

Having posted a perfect 4.00 grade point average in business administration, Ruh was named the 2012-13 Capital One Academic All-America of the Year for Division II men's basketball. The award is the highest academic honor bestowed in the sport.

In conjunction with receiving the nation's highest honor, he was selected as a member of the Capital One Academic All-America First Team. Ruh is one of only 10 student-athletes in Saint Leo history to receive that distinction.  He was also named the SSC's Males Scholar-Athlete of the Year his senior season, taking home another first for Saint Leo.

A native of Green Bay, Wis., he graduated summa cum laude in May. He was named the Saint Leo University School of Business Student of the Year.

In addition to excelling in the classroom, Ruh also played a key role in sparking a turnaround in the men's basketball program at Saint Leo. Named as the 2012-13 SSC Men's Basketball Player of the Year, he led the Lions to a 22-8 overall record and the first conference regular-season title in program history. Ruh averaged 16.5 points and 5.3 rebounds while leading the squad to a school-record 22 victories. He shot 45.8 percent from the field, 45.9 percent from three-point range, and 79.6 percent at the free throw line.

Ruh was named both the Male Athlete and Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year at Saint Leo. His impressive haul of postseason accolades also included DII Bulletin Third-Team All-America, NABC First-Team All-District, and Daktronics First-Team All-South Region.

This award, sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, provides the opportunity for Division II to highlight the extraordinary achievements of its student-athletes.  D. II CCA President and Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference, Steve Murray, noted that the award showcases the academic and athletic talent at the NCAA Division II level.  "Division II prides itself on the overall balance it allows student-athletes to practice in their daily lives, between athletics, academics, campus affairs and social events. These nominees are the perfect example of student-athletes who have figured out this balance and have excelled both academically and athletically," said Murray.

The commissioners from the regions that comprise the Division II basketball alignment selected the regional winners.  To be nominated for consideration, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.0 career cumulative grade point average and possess outstanding athletic credentials.

The national award winners will be announced next week.


Women's Regional Winners

  • Hannah Heeter – Clarion –Volleyball/Basketball – Pre-Medicine/Biology (3.96)
  • Amy Madden – Southern Nazarene – Softball – Chemistry/Biology (4.0)
  • Katie Warrington – Wilmington – Softball – Sports Management (3.99)
  • Kari Daugherty – Ashland – Basketball – Middle Childhood Education (3.97)
  • Megan Woodworth – Colorado School of Mines – Soccer – Chemical Engineering (3.89)
  • Lauryn Falcone – Rollins – Cross Country – Biology/Pre-Medicine (4.0)
  • Kayla Brown – Columbus – Soccer – Communications (3.94)
  • Liza Ohberg – Cal State – Track & Field/Cross Country – Business Administration (3.66)

Men's Regional Winners

  • Marcus Ruh – Saint Leo – Basketball – Business Administration (4.0)
  • Matt Tholis – East Stroudsburg – Track & Field – Exercise Science (3.91)
  • Alex Coulter – Winona State – Football – Business & Finance (3.96)
  • Weston Zeiner – Bentley – Soccer - Accountancy (3.84)
  • Rodolfo Gauto-Mariotti – Rockhurst – Tennis – Economics (3.99)
  • Dustin Vaughan – West Texas A&M – Football – Biology/Pre-Medicine (3.90)
  • Taylor Rakes – Tusculum – Baseball – Business/Economics (3.89)
  • Zach Esquerra – California Baptist – Baseball – Criminal Justice (3.88)