Lions Dominate Postseason Awards, Ruh Tabbed SSC Player of the Year

Lions Dominate Postseason Awards, Ruh Tabbed SSC Player of the Year

SSC regular-season co-champion Saint Leo claimed most of the major awards announced Friday as part of the 2012-13 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Basketball Team.

Marcus Ruh was selected Player of the Year, while teammate Shaun Adams was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Fellow Lion Jerrel Harris was selected Newcomer of the Year. 

Voting for the all-conference team was conducted among the league's head men's basketball coaches.

Clinching a spot on the All-SSC First Team with Ruh and Harris were: Seth Evans of Florida Southern, Darrien Mack of Eckerd, and Kyle McClanahan of Rollins.

Earning second-team honors were: Chris Carter, Jermaine Jackson, and Julius Reid of Florida Tech, Dominic Lane of Florida Southern, and Trent Thomas of Saint Leo.

An All-Newcomer Team was also selected. Joining Harris, McClanahan, and Carter on that squad were: Da'Markco Foster of Tampa and Terrance Tubbs of Florida Tech.

A senior from Green Bay, Wis., Ruh averaged 16.5 points per game, which ranked fourth in the SSC. His .486 three-point percentage was tops among league players. He also ranked fourth in the conference with 2.0 steals per outing and was 10th with a .795 free throw percentage. Ruh averaged 5.3 rebounds, 11th most in the SSC.

Adams was a force in the paint for a Lion defense that led the SSC in both scoring defense (62.6 points allowed per game) and field goal percentage defense (.392). He was the SSC's top shot blocker, posting 1.6 blocks per game. He placed fifth in the SSC with 6.7 rebounds per contest. The native of Liberty, Mo., also averaged 8.8 points and 1.2 steals.

In his first season of play at Saint Leo, Harris averaged 14.6 points, 3.7 rebounds, and 2.0 assists per game. A product of Milwaukee, Wis., he ranked second on his team in scoring and tied for 10th in the SSC in the same category.

Stevenson played in all 25 of Eckerd's games in his debut season, logging 13 starts. The Lakeland, Fla., native averaged 9.0 points and 3.6 rebounds. He was the Tritons' third-leading scorer.

Darner wins his fourth Coach of the Year award after leading the Moccasins to a share of the SSC title with a 21-5 overall record and 11-4 SSC mark. His squad displayed a prolific offense, leading the league with 85.3 points per game. The Mocs were also tops with a +11.3 scoring margin. Darner's Moccasins have been ranked in the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Top 25 for most of the year, including a No. 10 ranking in the latest poll.


Seth Evans, Florida Southern (Sr)
Jerrel Harris, Saint Leo (Jr)
Darrien Mack, Eckerd (Sr)
Kyle McClanahan, Rollins (Grad)
Marcus Ruh, Saint Leo (Sr)

Player of the Year - Marcus Ruh, Saint Leo
Defensive Player of the Year - Shaun Adams, Saint Leo
Newcomer of the Year - Jerrel Harris, Saint Leo
Freshman of the Year - Jerrick Stevenson, Eckerd
Coach of the Year - Linc Darner, Florida Southern

Chris Carter, Florida Tech (So)
Jermaine Jackson, Florida Tech (So)
Dominic Lane, Florida Southern (Jr)
Julius Reid, Florida Tech (Sr)
Trent Thomas, Saint Leo (Sr)

Chris Carter, Florida Tech (So)
Da'Markco Foster, Tampa (Jr)
Jerrel Harris, Saint Leo (Jr)
Kyle McClanahan, Rollins (Grad)
Terrance Tubbs, Florida Tech (Jr)

Visit for the latest news and info on Sunshine State Conference Athletics.