April 12, 2012

Men's Basketball Recognizes Teammates at Year-End Awards Ceremony

SAINT LEO, Fla. – The Saint Leo men's basketball team put their own final personal touches on a memorable 2011-12 season when the Lions hosted their year-end awards banquet on Tuesday night.  The evening was an opportunity for the Lions' men's basketball team to honor their own players with team and individual awards that highlighted great teammates and performances.

Named the Sunshine State Conference's Coach of the Year in his first season at the helm, Head Coach Lance Randall guided the Lions to 18 victories (18-12) and a program-record 10 conference wins (10-6), despite being picked to finish last in the preseason. The Lions also earned the program's first-ever NCAA Tournament berth in 2012.

The Lions won nine consecutive games at one point, breaking a program record that dates back to 1987. Leading the conference in scoring defense, the Lions finished fourth in the nation, allowing just 58.7 points per game.  Saint Leo also led the league in holding its opponents to a 39.6 percent field goal percentage, putting them 10th in Division II.

The awards handed out included:

Saint Leo Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year (announced April 17)
Marcus Ruh 

Sunshine State Conference Coach of the Year
Lance Randall

Sunshine State Conference Newcomer of the Year
Trent Thomas

Sunshine State Conference First-Team
Marcus Ruh
Trent Thomas

Sunshine State Conference All-Newcomer Team
Marcus Ruh
Trent Thomas

Most Valuable Players
Marcus Ruh
Trent Thomas

Offensive Player of the Year
Trent Thomas

Defensive Player of the Year
Cale Girten

Shaun Adams

Practice Attitude and Hustle
Spenser Mitchell

Heart of a Lion (Toughness Award)
Spenser Mitchell

Coach Madagan Award (Servanthood and Teamwork)
Preston Dubey, Team Manager

Most Improved
Tom Neary

6th-Man Award
Dominick Robinson