Saint Leo, Fla. (March 6, 2008) – Saint Leo University men’s basketball player Jordan Prais (So., Lakeland, Fla.) was named Second Team All-Sunshine State Conference, it was announced Thursday by SSC Commissioner Michael J. Marcil.

The 2007 SSC Freshman of the Year, Prais was a Second Team selection in 2008 after leading the Lions with averages of 16.4 points and 8.4 rebounds per game.  The 6-7 forward scored in double figures in all but four regular season games, and finished the year with a total of 10 double-doubles, while shooting 54.9% (163-of-297) from the field.

Eight member institutions were represented on the 2007-08 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Basketball Team. Tampa's Jeremy Black was chosen Player of the Year, while teammate Johnathan Ball was selected Defensive Player of the Year. Florida Southern's Rion Rayfield was named Freshman of the Year, and FSC's Linc Darner received Coach of the Year recognition.
Voting for the all-conference team was conducted among the SSC's head men's basketball coaches and sports information directors.

Black was joined on the All-SSC First Team by: Rob Eldridge (Florida Southern), Carl McNally (Florida Tech), Damone Morris (Eckerd), and Jonny Reibel (Rollins).

Comprising the All-Conference Second Team were: Prais, Tim Coenraad (Nova Southeastern), Chris Evans (Tampa), Hans Schur (Lynn), and Justin Sedlak (Florida Tech).

Named to the All-Freshman Team with Rayfield were: Rashad Callaway (Tampa), Chris Hall (Lynn), Brandon Jenkins (Florida Southern), Jeremy Sharpe (Rollins), and Nick Wolf (Rollins).

The Saint Leo men’s basketball team (14-14) will face No. 3 seed Tampa on Saturday in the semifinals of the Sunshine State Conference Tournament.  Opening tip is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. at Tampa’s Bob Martinez Sports Center.