Mata named to NCBWA Preseason All-South Region team

Mata named to NCBWA Preseason All-South Region team

SAINT LEO, Fla. – Saint Leo senior outfielder Alex Mata was named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Preseason All-South Region First Team, which was unveiled Friday.

Mata was an American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and NCBWA Second Team All-South Region pick last season, and earned First Team All-Sunshine State Conference honors in 2016.

He batted .388 for the Lions over 196 at bats, with a .443 on-base percentage and a .653 slugging percentage. Mata recorded 76 hits and an SSC-leading 23 doubles and nine home runs. His 55 runs batted in were tied for sixth in the SSC in 2016.

Among NCAA Division II leaders, Mata was 12th in total doubles and ninth in doubles per game (0.48 per game).

Saint Leo baseball opens its 2017 season on Friday, Feb. 3, when its hosts the University of West Alabama at 6:00 p.m., in the first game of a three-day, three-game series.

For more information on the Saint Leo baseball program, visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

NCBWA Division II Preseason All-South Region First Team

  • SP JT Granat, West Florida
  • SP Tre Hobbs, Delta State, Miss.
  • SP Christopher Williams, Tampa, Fla.
  • RP Jarrod Petree, West Florida
  • C AJ Walden, Alabama Huntsville
  • 1B Kyle Hubbuch, North Alabama
  • 2B Laz Rivera, Tampa, Fla.
  • 3B Mitch Reeves, Florida Southern
  • SS John Sternagel, Florida Tech
  • OF Ryan Baldwin, Barry
  • OF Dalton Duty, Valdosta State, Ga.
  • OF Alex Mata, Saint Leo, Fla.
  • DH Brandon Gomez, Nova Southeastern, Fla.
  • UT Mike Purcell, Rollins, Fla.

NCBWA Division II Preseason All-South Region Second Team

  • SP Ty Cohen, Florida Tech
  • SP Walker O'Connor, West Florida
  • SP Art Vidrio, Lee, Tenn.
  • RP Drew Beyer, Florida Tech
  • C Christopher Corbett, Rollins, Fla.
  • 1B Trey Mathis, Alabama Huntsville
  • 2B Nic Strasser, West Florida
  • 3B JD Osbourne, Tampa, Fla.
  • SS Kevin Santa, Tampa, Fla.
  • OF Nick Delgado, West Alabama
  • OF Danny Lee, Tampa, Fla. 
  • OF Daniel Szpik, Florida Tech 
  • DH Vin Coscenzo, Tampa, Fla. 
  • UT Kevin Suarez, Nova Southeastern, Fla.