Six Players Earn All-SSC Recognition

Six Players Earn All-SSC Recognition

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Following the most successful baseball season since 2001, five players were honored in part of the Sunshine State Conference's All-Conference teams, which were announced this morning by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones. Senior first baseman Michael Revell and senior outfielder Taed Moses were both named to the first team, while senior third baseman Dillon Vitale, and freshman Michael Dunnigan were named to the second team, and senior LHP Rick Teasley and sophomore Bobby Twitty received honorable mention recognition.

Revell, the Lions' everyday first baseman, led the squad in power numbers on the year, belting a team-high six home runs and driving in a team-high 48 RBI. In addition, Revell played solid defensively, posting a fielding percentage of .983. Revell finished second on the team with a .355 average, ripping 13 doubles and a triple, while finishing sixth in the SSC with a .550 slugging percentage.

Also notching All-SSC First Team honors was Moses who led the team in hitting with a .376 average and finished third among all SSC hitters in the same category. Moses' .576 slugging percentage was the fourth best in the conference as he tallied 14 doubles, a team-high five triples, and three home runs. Moses also led the team in stolen bases, going 16-for-17 for the season.

Vitale, whose on-base percentage hovered around .500 for most of the season, earned All-SSC Second Team honors.  The team's third leading hitter batted .345 with 10 doubles and three home runs. Vitale finished the season with an on-base percentage of .487—the highest in the Sunshine State Conference. Also contributing to that high mark was his knack for drawing walks, as Vitale reached on a team-high 35 walks, good for third best in the conference.

Also taking home All-SSC Second Team honors was Dunnigan, who came on very strong for the Lions late, totaling a 7-0 record for the season. Dunnigan started four games on the hill, tallying over 40 innings while accumulating an ERA of 2.72. The righty earned seven wins in his freshman campaign while striking out 25 batters. 

Teasley received honorable mention recognition, pitching 86.2 innings with an ERA of 3.63 as the leader of the Lions' pitching staff. Teasley compiled 24 more innings than the next closest pitcher on the team while earning five wins and notching 73 strikeouts in his senior season.

Also earning honorable mention recognition was Twitty, who in just his sophomore season, put up some impressive numbers at the plate. The right fielder started off the year on fire, hitting safely in 20 consecutive games during one stretch. Twitty finished with a.317 average, five home runs, and 40 RBI. 


1B - Jason Matusik, Lynn (Sr)
1B - Michael Revell, Saint Leo (Sr)
2B - Adrian English, Barry (Jr)
3B - Brandon Sedell, Nova Southeastern (So)
SS - Jacob Tillotson, Tampa (So)
C - Austin Allen, Florida Tech (Fr)
OF - Michael Danner, Tampa (Jr)
OF - Taed Moses, Saint Leo (Sr)
OF - Connor Obrochta, Tampa (Jr)
OF - Zach Persky, Rollins (Jr)
DH - Kevin Reynolds, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
UT - Keith Curcio, Florida Southern (So)
SP - Matt Abramson, Tampa (Sr)
SP - Billy Atkins, Barry (Fr)
SP - Jason Boyer, Florida Tech (Sr)
SP - Jed Vandernaald, Lynn (Jr)
RP - Mike Adams, Tampa (Jr)

Player of the Year - Jason Matusik, Lynn
Pitcher of the Year - Mike Adams, Tampa
Freshman of the Year - Austin Allen, Florida Tech
Coach of the Year - Joe Urso, Tampa

1B - Scott Carcaise, Florida Tech (Jr)
2B - Tyler Ding, Tampa (Jr)
3B - Dillon Vitale, Saint Leo (Sr)
SS - Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
C - Luis Arrizurieta, Barry (Sr)
OF - Alex Marrero, Nova Southeastern (Sr)
OF - Enrique Perez, Lynn (Jr)
OF - Sheehan Planas, Barry (So)
OF - Jose Rodriguez, Nova Southeastern (Sr)
DH - Cory Elasik, Lynn (Sr)
UT - Tyler Kellman, Barry (Jr)
SP - Michael Dunnigan, Saint Leo (Fr)
SP - Calvin Rayburn, Barry (Jr)
SP - Taylor Smith, Rollins (Sr)
SP - Scotty Ward, Florida Tech (So)
RP - James Mannara, Florida Tech (Sr)

OF - Bobby Twitty, Saint Leo (So)
SP - Anthony Figliolia, Rollins (Sr)
SP - Rick Teasley, Saint Leo (Sr)