131 student-athletes land on Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll

131 student-athletes land on Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll

MELBOURNE, Fla. – A total of 131 Saint Leo student-athletes were named to the Sunshine State Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll for the 2017 spring semester, announced on Friday by SSC Commissioner Ed Pasque.

The Lions saw 12 individuals earn a perfect 4.00 in the spring, as Alex Alvarez, Caroline Fraser, and Emily Pittenger of women's lacrosse, Brittney Creamer, Rachael Heath, and Samantha Tyler of softball, Drago Popovic and Trail Pierce of men's basketball, Nick Argitis and Ryan Kolesnikov of men's lacrosse, Simon Knutsson of men's golf and Marie Coors of women's golf all finished with the elusive honor.

Women's lacrosse led with 21 honored, and men's lacrosse followed with 20. The baseball team added 15 honorees, while men's golf added 10. Softball fielded nine representatives, while men's basketball, men's swimming, men's tennis, and women's tennis all tacked on seven student-athletes a piece. Women's basketball and women's golf each added an additional six.

The SSC as a whole saw a record total of 1,141 student-athletes honored on the list, with a total of 177 earning 4.0's. This spring's numbers break the previous SSC Commissioner's Spring Honor Roll records of 1,039 student-athletes honored and 168 perfect grade-point averages. Both of which were set in 2016. 

Having won 102 Division II National Championships, the SSC's student-athletes have also proven to be successful in the classroom. For the seventh consecutive year, the SSC boasts an Academic Success Rate of 86 percent. The mark ranks first among all NCAA Division II conferences.

To be eligible for the spring semester SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll, a student-athlete must post a minimum grade-point average of a 3.20 on a scale 4.00. Participants in the sports of men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming, women's rowing, baseball, softball, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, and men's and women's lacrosse were eligible for the spring honor roll.

The complete list of Spring SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll student-athletes is below; names in bold posted a 4.0 GPA for the Spring 2017 semester.

Men's Basketball
Eli Blackman, Sport Business
Tyreece Brice, Economics
Necdet Gurkan, Psychology
Pete Okonkwo, Accounting
Drago Popovic, Computer Information Systems
Trail Pierce, Computer Science

Junior Searcy, Sport Business

Women's Basketball
Gina Brierley, Undeclared
Ragen Dotson, Psychology
Nikira Hooks, Social Work
Madelin Lang, Management
Jacquelyn Layng, Political Science
Izabell Skoogh, Psychology

Men's Swimming
Hunter Bains, Criminal Justice
Luke Hand, Criminal Justice
Casey Klaus, Criminal Justice
Kane Klimczak, Health Care Management
Milosz Mikicin, MBA
Christopher Paiva, Communication Management
Michael Southward, Marketing

Women's Swimming
Taylor Anderson, Psychology
Allyssa Black, Marketing
Alicia Carlin, Psychology
Natalia Garriock, Management
Karina Kolb, Marketing
Charlie Langner, Accounting
Annie Lindstrom, Criminal Justice
Sidney Martin, Economics
Alyssa McNamara, Biology
Siobhan Murphy, Undeclared
Matalin Shaver, Social Work
Jaclyn Taylor, Sport Business
Maftuna Tuhtasinova, International Tourism & Hospitality Mgmt.
Carylyn Waite, Psychology
Mackenzie Wallace, Elementary Education
Nicole Weber, Marketing

Men's Lacrosse
Ian Areford, Biology
Nick Argitis, Criminal Justice
Jacob Bye, Accounting
Andrew Buck, Accounting
Nick Buckley, Management
Philip Buque, Biology
Jason D'Aoust, Marketing
Jeffrey Heim, Sport Business
Justin Hindman, Undeclared
Josh Kaufling, Computer Science
Jake Kavanagh, Criminal Justice
Ryan Kolesinikov, Computer Science
Tucker Langmead, Computer Science
Eric Lee, Biology
Zachary Lysyk, Criminal Justice
Kyle Pauwels, Sport Business
Preston Pena, Computer Information Systems
Bruce Preeschl, Sport Business
Joseph Serrechia, Criminal Justice
Ethan Ticehurst, Biology

Women's Lacrosse
Alex Alvarez, Social Work

Jillian Bontempo, Biology
Kelsey Burns, Sport Business
Katie Casey, Economics
Delaney Chrisco, Marketing
Amanda Coppolo, Health Care Managment
Erin Davis, Undeclared
Andrea Dobo, Philosophy & Religious Studies
Sydney Drummings, Psychology
Leslie Ferguson, Biology
Caroline Fraser, Sport Business
Sara Gianino, Criminal Justice
Rebecca Halley, Elementary Education
Katie Larson, Criminal Justice
Lauren O'Connell, Undeclared
Jody Madsen, Marketing
Emily Pittenger, Accounting
Abbie Ross, Sport Business
Anna Tamayo, Sport Business
Kaylah Walstad, Management
Lexie Walstad, Undeclared

Men's Golf
Casey Bannon, Communication Management
Alberto Castagnara, Management
Marcus Crowe, Management
Riley Goss, Management
Ryan Gendron, Marketing
James Jessop, Sport Business
Simon Knutsson, Undeclared
Nilo Sanchez, Criminal Justice
Colby Tyler, Accounting
Colin Warren, Management

Women's Golf
Margine Arguello, Marketing
Marie Coors, Economics
Vilde Eriksen, Psychology
Amanda Jakobsson, Multimedia Management
Izzy Lawrence, Sport Business
Sabrina Rumbaugh, Sport Business

Men's Tennis
Francisco Aparicio, Economics
Jaime Bueno, Economics
James Defusto, Sport Business
Thomas Grinberg, Economics
Oskar Nurmio, Management
Vincent Suillerot, Economics
Willem Van Den Akker, Sport Business

Women's Tennis
Madeleine Gauthier, Sport Business
Marine Beugre-Guyot, Biology
Megan Charlton, Sport Business
Kristyna Jurkova, Undeclared
Maja Pindelska, International Tourism & Hospitality Mgmt.
Anastasia Wagner, Economics & Management
Katherine Zaatini, International Tourism & Hospitality Mgmt.

Tyler Bauman, Sport Business
Blake Bodin, Cybersecurity
Robert Cook, Accounting
Derek Gibree, Criminal Justice
Oscar Gordillo, Accounting
Will Gray, Management
Matt McGee, Biology
Chad Mille, Sport Business
Marcelo Parker-Hernandez, Sport Business
Jeremy Peel, Biology
A.J. Rainaldi, Accounting
Zack Sabo, Criminal Justice
Lane Stancil, Accounting
Daniel Torres, Biology
Daniel Twitty, Sport Business

Stephanie Adkins, Health Care Management
Brittany Creamer, Management
Rachael Heath, Elementary Education

Amanda James, Sport Business
Ciara McCoy, Multimedia Management
Sommer Pollard, Biology
Olivia Prieto, Biology
Samantha Tyler, History
Alyssa Wash, Health Care Management

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Saint Leo Department of Athletics, be sure to visit SaintLeoLions.com.  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest Lions news by following Saint Leo Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.