Men's Lacrosse Earns “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award

Men's Lacrosse Earns “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award

Lions Earn Honor for Second Time in Program History

BALTIMORE (June 9, 2014) - The US Lacrosse Men's Collegiate Officials Committee has named the recipients of the James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship Award for the 2014 lacrosse season. Saint Leo and head coach Brad Jorgensen received the District 5 sportsmanship award, marking the second time in program history the Lions have won the award.  The Lions’ last earned the accolade at the conclusion of their 2006 inaugural season.

This year's winners will be recognized at the 2015 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, at the Baltimore Convention Center, January 23-25.

Initiated in 2006, the awards are presented annually to the college or university in each of the 11 officiating districts whose coaches, players and fans exhibit the best sportsmanship throughout the season.

Both college varsity (NCAA) and club (MCLA) programs are eligible for consideration, with the winners selected by voting among each districts' officials.

The award exemplifies the tradition of sportsmanship in lacrosse displayed by Ace Adams, who amassed 284 collegiate victories during a coaching career that spanned across five decades and included stints at the United State Military Academy (Army), University of Pennsylvania and University of Virginia. At the time of his retirement in 1992, Adams had the most wins of any active NCAA Division I coach. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1975.

Nine of this year’s recipients are first-time winners of the prestigious honor. Utah State, from District 9, joins the Lions as the only other repeat winner.

"The Ace Adams Award demonstrates the commitment of all collegiate officials to identify and recognize good sportsmanship behavior," said Tom Sutton, men's game officials' committee chair. "Those coaches and teams who receive this award have demonstrated excellent sportsmanship on a consistent basis, and we want them to know that it does not go unnoticed and is very much appreciated." 

The winners of the 2014 James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship award and their head coaches are:
District 1 - Amherst College - Jon Thompson
District 2 - Houghton College - Joey Wilmot
District 3 - SUNY Maritime College - Daniel Lawrence
District 4 - Hampden-Sydney College - Ray Rostan
District 5 - Saint Leo University - Brad Jorgensen
District 6 - Aurora University - Kylor Berkman
District 7 - Miami University - Chuck Wilson
District 8 - Louisiana State University - Jeff Echols
District 9 - Utah State University - Jonathan Atwood
District 10 - University of California, Berkeley - Dan Nourse
District 11 - Gonzaga University - Lawrence Sullivan