Denyve Duncan Boyle Takes Distinguished Spot in Conference Hall of Fame

Denyve Duncan Boyle Takes Distinguished Spot in Conference Hall of Fame

WINTER PARK, Fla. - Seven new members were inducted into the Sunshine State Conference Hall of Fame in ceremonies held Monday evening at the Radisson Resort Orlando-Celebration.

Joining the Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2012-13 was Saint Leo University standout Denyve Duncan Boyle whose talent on the softball led her to numerous awards as one of the Lions’ All-Americans.  Joining Duncan-Boyle were fellow SSC competitors Nicolas Boisvert, Megan Brown, Elias Gonzales, Emelie Karlsson, Gregg Kaye, and Malana Winskas.  Five members of the induction class were present for the ceremonies, with only Boisvert and Karlsson unable to attend the event.

Duncan Boyle began her career by being named SSC Freshman of the Year in 2002 and would conclude her tenure as a four-time All-SSC performer.  Duncan was a first-team selection in 2002 and 2004 and garnered second-team all-conference honors in 2003 and 2005.  She was a National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-American in 2002 and 2004.  Duncan was also tabbed the SSC’s Player of the Year in 2004.  She concluded her career as the Saint Leo career leader in a number of statistical categories, including hits (269) and stolen bases (87).  Named to the SSC Silver Anniversary Softball Team, she also ranks among the top five of the league’s career leaders with 269 hits.  Duncan’s talents extended beyond the softball field, as she was a four-time member of both the NFCA All-America Scholar squad and the SSC Commissioner’s Honor Roll.  Duncan was inducted into the Saint Leo University Hall of Fame in 2011 and works in the development office at her alma mater, where she also serves as a volunteer assistant coach for the Lion softball squad.

Brown and Duncan Boyle joined the Hall of Fame as softball student-athletes.  Karlsson and Winskas added to the women’s soccer ranks in the Hall.  Gonzales became one of just three cross country inductees, and the first men’s runner to receive the distinction.  Boisvert became the 32nd baseball player to be inducted, while Gregg Kaye represented the Sunshine State Conference.  Kaye served as an associate commissioner in the league office for six years.

Gonzales and Winskas represent the University of Tampa in the Hall of Fame.  Brown played her collegiate career at Florida Southern College.  Duncan Boyle is an alumna of Saint Leo University.  Boisvert carries the Lynn University banner into the Hall, while Karlsson is an honoree from Barry University.

This year’s inductees represent the 21st class to be selected to the SSC Hall of Fame. A total of 179 student-athletes, coaches, and administrators have previously been inducted into the hall since the inaugural class of 1991-92.

The Sunshine State Conference Hall of Fame was founded in 1991 to honor those persons who have made outstanding contributions to the conference. Its purpose is to perpetuate the memory of those who brought distinction, honor, and excellence to the SSC.