Saint Leo to Induct 23 into National College Athlete Honor Society

Saint Leo to Induct 23 into National College Athlete Honor Society

SAINT LEO, Fla. – The Saint Leo Department of Athletics has announced the 2013 nominees who will be inducted into the National College Athlete Honor Society.  Twenty-three student-athletes will be inducted in this year’s class, which marks excellence in both academic and athletic endeavors.

The National College Athlete Honor Society is the first national scholar-athlete society to honor collegiate student athletes who have excelled in both the classroom as well as in athletic competition. Chi Alpha Sigma recognizes college students who received a varsity letter in their sport while earning a 3.50 or higher cumulative GPA after five full time semesters of enrollment.

Chi Alpha Sigma’s purposes are as follows: To encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited colleges and universities.  To recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letter winners.  To encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics. To recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university.  And to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.

The 2013 NCAHS Induction Ceremony will take place at a reception on April 3, 2013, at Kafe Kokopelli located in Dade City, Fla.  The reception is set to begin at 6 p.m.

National College Athlete Honor Society Class of 2013
Shaun Adams
LeeAnn Antuna
Caroline  Ebner
Jake Fleischer
Sean Jones
Laura  Kemkes
Kristy Marques
Taed Moses
Thomas Neary
Christopher Newcomb
Matthew Nicholson-Lewis
Matthew Obermeyer
Line Pedersen
Marcus Ruh
Emily Singleton
Nicole Sirota-Plotnikov
Jordan Sisson
Elyse Snyder
Sandra Stopczynska
Karl Tapper
Daniel Torres
Alyssa Viscomi
Samantha White